Recruiting

Were You Just Laid Off?

This is what I did.

Dan Hanley
4 min readMar 26, 2023

--

Author. Photo credit: Author

I’m not a pro on what to do when you leave the office or meeting room you were called into to get the news that you no longer have a job, but I have experienced it.

These days the news could come from an email.

I was laid off many years ago. When I was laid off I had an amazing network of friends and colleagues ready to help and support, and a lot of what I did came from their suggestions.

No matter how much good you know will come from this later, it is not a good feeling when it is happening, especially, like many who will be reading this, if you totally rocked it at your job and were the most loyal employee ever.

First things first. Create a personal email address to use for the job search. You most likely will already have one and perhaps you can use that, but not if the address is something like IloveBlackSabbath@hotmail.com. No, this address has to be professional as it will be the address you use to let professional colleagues and friends know that you have just been laid off. It’s also the address you will use to send out resumes.

Next, create address books within the account. I had one personal and one professional. I also have one for my “inner circle” of professional contacts, those who I have a wonderful relationship with and I know…

--

--

Dan Hanley

I write about nonprofits, fundraising, recruiting, self-care. Human rights, domestic violence, borders, and refugee focused. Sober. Vegan. https://altrui.org/