Activism

The Violence on My Plate

Abhorring violence brought me to veganism.

Dan Hanley
3 min readMar 17, 2024

--

The Author and Ludwig. Photo credit: Author

I often write about veganism and animal rights for one of my blogs, and always want to make it clear that when writing about my choice to be vegan, I’m not judging anyone. I’m simply sharing my path and what works for me, realizing it may not work for everyone.

I have always loved animals. I have always appalled violence.

When I came out in 1991, I instantly became more aware of violence than ever before. The threat of violence and hearing awful slurs were things I hadn’t experienced before telling the world I was gay.

I soon began seeing violence everywhere. And was reminded of the violence I participated in, by simply eating.

My love for animals began to get in the way of the violence on my plate.

Even before becoming vegan, I would often say that I love animals, even though I really meant just dogs.

Like most people, I never wanted to harm animals. I would never go out of my way to inflict pain or suffering on any animal.

But I did pay someone else to do that.

When I was still eating meat (animals) I was out with a group of fellow protestors (after a human rights protest) and one of my…

--

--

Dan Hanley

I write about nonprofits, fundraising, recruiting, self-care. Human rights, domestic violence, borders, and refugee focused. Sober. Vegan. https://altrui.org/