Travel

Capitol Reef National Park

This lesser-known of the national parks is a perfect place to camp and hike.

Dan Hanley
3 min readFeb 7, 2023

--

Mountain peak in center. Blue sky baove that with clouds in upper left. Foreground is a path, then green grass, then a tree line.
A path next to the camping area. Photo credit: Author

This is a second article about Capitol Reef. After camping and hiking in other places since my trip there last year, I wanted to write more.

Hiking and camping are part of my self care.

Driving from southern California to Denver I had extra time and planned a couple of days at one of the least known nationals parks, Captiol Reef.

This was my second time there.

I camped at the Fruita Campground. Plenty of shade with great views of the rock formations. I usually stay away from campgrounds at national parks and hit the backcountry, mainly because of noise issues with folks who like their loud music and all-night (loud) conversations, but there was one spot open so I took it. I wasn’t disappointed; actually surprised.

A deer and her fawn in the center. Trees at top and grasses in foreground.
A deer and her fawn at the campground. Photo credit: Author

There was little noise. No music. People seemed very respectful. There were deer scattered throughout the campground and even a couple of turkeys. The Fremont River flows right next to the campground, perfect for some wading and just…

--

--

Dan Hanley

I write about nonprofits, fundraising, recruiting, self-care. Human rights, domestic violence, borders, and refugee focused. Sober. Vegan. https://altrui.org/