Business

A New Six-Month Plan for My Business

My solopreneurship is constantly evolving and I’m starting to actually plan it.

Dan Hanley
3 min readMay 23, 2024

--

Author at a coffee. Photo credit: Author

2024 has been an incredible year so far in my world of nonprofit relationship building and fundraising.

Many days I feel the need to pinch myself.

Not only because my consulting business is going well, but because I absolutely love my work and my clients.

What I do does not feel like work.

The world of nonprofit consulting is huge, one I share with amazing colleagues doing incredible work. At Altrui (my company), we focus on working with nonprofits who work in immigrant/refugees, domestic violence, youth experiencing homelessness, and animal rights.

I started with the intent of solely focusing on relationship building and fundraising. Specifically, relationship building with donors.

Each day is a learning experience.

As time went by, I started working in arenas I had never imagined myself working in.

Like recruiting.

One day a client asked if I would help with the search for a new member of their fundraising team. I liked the idea of being involved in choosing the next fundraising…

--

--

Dan Hanley

I write about nonprofits, fundraising, recruiting, self-care. Human rights, domestic violence, borders, and refugee focused. Sober. Vegan. https://altrui.org/